About the conference

Home \ About the conference

About the conference #aeaglasgow

Thank you for making the 16th annual conference in Glasgow our biggest yet! 

Local Host: School of Education, University of Glasgow. For more information on the University of Glasgow and its School of Education – http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/education

Theme: Assessment and Social Justice

Date: 5-7th November 2015

Conference Hotel: Radisson Blu Hotel,
301 Argyle Street,
G2 8DL

The conference hotel, the Radisson Blu, lies in the centre of Glasgow. Delegate accommodation is available here and at 3 partner hotels in the city. 

Programme: A preview of the program containing all of the presenters and papers is available to download below


Workshops on 4 November:
There will be four workshops:

As well as a symposium on the same day:

You can register for the pre-conference workshops and symposium via the conference registration site.

Key dates:

Close for workshop proposals   27 February
Close for conference proposals 30 April
Feedback to authors 1 July
Registration opens 1 July
Early Bird registration closes 30 September
Workshops 4 November

Conference Flyer:
flyer giving information about the conference and the venue is available. Please circulate this amongst your networks, to encourage broader participation in AEA-Europe. If you have suggestions for circulating this, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Additional Information for delegates:
Further information about the conference such as the conference guide, details on social events, and location maps can be found on the Information for participants page

Conference Local Organising Committee:

Louise Hayward, University of Glasgow (Chair)
Jo-Anne Baird, Oxford University
Antonella Poce, University Roma Tre
Carolyn Hutchinson, University of Glasgow
Susan Kelly, University of Glasgow
George MacBride, University of Glasgow
Ernest Spencer, University of Glasgow
Elaine Bannatyne (Secondary Headteacher, Balfron High School)
Sharon Hayward (Primary Headteacher, Blairdardie Primary School)
Katherine McNab / Lorraine Sanda (Scottish Government)
Ken Muir (General Teaching Council for Scotland)
Graham Norris /Claire Harvey (Education Scotland)
Gill Stewart (Scottish Qualifications Authority)
Louise Wilson / Andrea Bradley (Educational Institute of Scotland)
Isobel Taggart / Jacqueline Nimmo (Glasgow City)
Joe Wilson (College Development Network)
Iain Ellis (National Parents’ Forum)
Gareth Brown (Scottish Youth Parliament)

Sources of photos:
Visit Scotland, People Make Glasgow (Glasgow City Marketing Bureau), Glasgow Life (Glasgow City Museums) and the University of Glasgow.