The Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award

Through its New Assessment Researcher Award, AEA-Europe seeks to recognise members who are new to the field of educational assessment and who feel they have made a considerable contribution to the field.
The winner of the award is given the opportunity to make a keynote presentation at the AEA-Europe Annual Conference. As a keynote speaker they are supported with travel costs to the conference and receive 500 Euros as well as a certificate to acknowledge the award.
awards one
awards two

How to apply?

AEA-Europe through its New Assessment Researcher Award seeks to give recognition to members who are new to the field of educational assessment and feel that through their research they have made a considerable contribution to the field.

The candidate has to provide documentation that will be evaluated by a panel consisting of Fellows of the Association.

The documentation must consist of a CV, a letter of application, which shows the motivation of the candidate, two nomination letters and an abstract (3000 words) of the research the candidate wishes to present.

Applications must be emailed to the AEA Secretariat at by 30th April each year. If you have any queries, please also email these to the Secretariat who will be pleased to offer support.

Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award: 2024 Award Winner

It gives us great pleasure to announce that the winner of the Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award for 2024 is Heather Kayton.

Heather has completed her DPhil. in Education at the University of Oxford. Her research is focused on understanding the role that large-scale assessments play in educational policy reform in South Africa – particularly regarding reading instruction.

Heather will be presenting her keynote speech at the conference in Paphos, Cyprus which will be entitled ‘Evaluating the validity and comparability of PIRLS 2016 in South Africa’.

poster design

AEA-Europe Poster Award

AEA–Europe encourages its membership to submit poster proposals for its Annual Conference each year. It is a very effective way for professionals engaged in assessment to present their work, having the opportunity to exchange ideas, get feedback to improve their work and develop new, shared projects together with other experts in the field.

“Winning the Poster Award filled me with pride and I was very happy that colleagues acknowledged my work. Furthermore, the prize, a visit to CITO where we could chat with colleagues about our work, get feedback and learn about all the work being carried out by CITO, was the highlight of my year.”

Deborah Chetcuti,
University of Malta Award Winner, 2015

Award Details

Who is eligible for the award?

To be eligible as a New Researcher, the candidate should

be a “new” assessment researcher. “New” researchers are defined as being within the first three years after being awarded their doctoral degree from an institution in a country within Europe (full-time equivalent), including the period of research training. There is no age qualification. Candidates may apply before receiving their doctoral degree
be working, or studying, at an institution in a country within Europe;
have the support of professional colleagues that his/her work represents a considerable contribution to the assessment field;
have produced a keynote paper which the Council considers to be of sufficiently high quality to be presented to AEA-Europe members;
contribute to the aims of AEA-Europe.

Past Winners

2022: Dr. Paula Lehane, School of Inclusive and Special Education in Dublin City University (DCU), Ireland
2021: Raphaël Pasquini, University of Teacher Education state of Vaud
2020: Dr. Stéphanie Berger, University of Zurich
2019: Dr. Aisling Keane, Queen’s University Belfast
2018: Dr. Maria Bolsinova, ACT Business Solutions, ACTNext, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2017: Dr. Fazilat Siddiq, Nordic Institute for Studies in Innovation, Research and Education (NIFU)
2016: Dr. Sebastiaan De Klerk, PhD Student at eX:plain and the Research Center for Examinations and Certification
2015: Ronny Scherer, Centre for Educational Measurement at the University of Oslo, Norway
2014: Yasmine El Masri, Oxford University Centre for Educational Assessment, UK
2013: Fabienne Van Der Kleij, CITO, Netherlands
2012: Maria Teresa Florez, Oxford University Centre for Educational Assessment, UK
2011: Matthieu Brinkhuis, Cito Psychometric Research Center, Netherlands
2010: Therese Nerheim Hopfenbeck, University of Oslo, Norway
2009: Saskia Wools, CITO, The Netherlands
2008: Antonella Poce, University Roma Tre, Italy
2007: Hanna Eklof, Umea University, Sweden